Freakshow! – 2/11/10

February 11, 2010

After the last week’s incredibly pessimistic and bitter episode, we needed to cheer ourselves up with some awesome music.  And so we did!  With an eclectic mix of classic punk, Japanese hip-hop and some of the greatest guitarists of all time, bookended by Freakman John’s exalting of Nine Black Alps, ballet talk, fun science projects to do at your local bar and dreams of a Sarah Palin future, this is nothing less than a Freakshow! for the ages.  Not to mention one that features one of the most unique (and best) sets we’ve ever done.  It’s a brave new world, folks!

Click the song information (when available) to hear the song.  Click the album art next to the song information to view the song’s host album’s page on Amazon.

Nine Black Alps – Bitter End

The Buzzcocks – Orgasm Addict

The Saints – (I’m) Stranded

Reigning Sound – I’ll Cry

Guided by Voices – I Am a Tree

Shadow Mann – Shadow Mann

Motorhead – Louie Louie

Foxboro Hot Tubs – Mother Mary

The Jimi Hendrix Experience – Highway Chile

Dropkick Murphys – Gonna Be a Blackout Tonight

The Black Keys – Hurt Like Mine

Love – A House is Not a Motel

Husker Du – The Girl Who Lives on Heaven Hill

Devo – Uncontrollable Urge

OK Go – A Good Idea at the Time

T. Rex – Monolith

The Sonics – Cinderella

Ramones – You’re Gonna Kill That Girl

Van Morrison – Crazy Love

Operation Ivy – Freeze Up

Jeff the Brotherhood – U Got the Look

Toadies – Hell in High Water

Bad Religion – The State of the End of the Millennium Address

Gil Scott-Heron – The Revolution Will Not Be Televised

King Missile – Detachable Penis

Rip Slyme – GALAXY

Cibo Matto – Spoon

Weezer – Only in Dreams

If I may break character here and stop talking in the “royal we” as to make it seem like Freakshow! is more than just me typing nonsense on this blog, this is usually where I would post the link to download this week’s fine episode.  And let me tell you something – it was a fine episode, one that I am insanely happy with and wish I had proof to show just how good it was and how much better I have gotten since I started doing this show.  But of course, WTBU’s CD Burner decided it would be a great idea to not want to do anything today!  Great!  Super!  So stoked about that!  Alas, while I cannot replicate the awesome talk we had on today’s show outside of making up some random comments about each song or posting my show notes in big block form (which would be idiotic), I can bring back the thing I did last semester before I decided to stop updating the blog:

THINGS WE SAID TODAY:

  • I discussed Nine Black Alps and how underrated they are.  Seriously, if you don’t know anything about them, you should really check them out.  It’s true that they’ve never been able to replicate the harsh, grungy and melodic magic of their first album (Everything Is), but they are still better than the majority of “rock” bands out there today.  Their second album, the more pop-oriented Love / Hate, is terrific and you can get it off iTunes for $6.  Meanwhile, their newest album – Locked Out from the Inside, an album that is even rougher than Everything Is – is $7.59 on iTunes; admittedly I’m incredibly apathetic towards the album and it does absolutely nothing for me, but I’m not saying it’s bad.  Outside of one song, I don’t think there’s anything “bad” about the album outside of it just didn’t click with me (and since I know for a fact that most of you are just going to go torrent these albums anyway, what do you got to lose by checking it out?).  So do yourself a favor and check them out; you’ll be glad you did.
  • Perhaps you’ve heard of Chroma.  Yes?  No?  Well allow me to explain: it’s a ballet.  It’s going to be playing in Toronto as part of the National Ballet of Canada’s series this year.  I really want to see it.  Now you may be wondering: why would I, Freakman John of all people, be interested in a ballet?  Well maybe it has something to do with the fact that it features a 35-piece orchestra playing White Stripes songs. Folks, I cannot make this up!  To put it another way: Mike, I’m crashing at your dorm whenever this is playing.  I hope you don’t mind.
  • After last week’s ridiculously pessimistic episode, you’d think I’d want to get away from news stories that make me furious and hate this world.  But instead, I found it important to be horrified by this story about a soldier who waterboarded his daughter because she couldn’t remember the alphabet.  In all seriousness, folks, while I may have been horrified on air (and still am horrified by it), this story is absolutely hilarious in theory.  If you told me this was real and never showed me this news story, I’d never believe you.  It sounds like a scene out of a demented black comedy, not real life.  The fact that this nutbar actually did it is what makes it awful.
  • The T. Rex song is dedicated by myself and friend of the show Max Engel-Streich to our good friend Clark, who just turned 22 today.  Happy birthday Clark!  And speaking of T. Rex, here’s a fun science project for you to do: next time you’re at your favorite bar, go check out their jukebox.  If they don’t have Electric Warrior on the jukebox, never go there again!
  • A correction: I stated on air that Husker Du is from L.A.  They’re not; they’re from Minneapolis, which is, in case you were wondering, nowhere near California.  I apologize for this egregious mistake.  I have brought shame to my family, and will be sure to atone for this sin through seppuku.
  • The last set of today’s show (which is one of the best sets I have ever made, if I say so myself; it embodies everything Freakshow! is while being something that, on paper, should never fit into Freakshow! in any way, shape or form) was dedicated to Sonichu – the most awesome electric hedgehog Pokemon in the world – and his HFA manchild of a father Ian Brandon Something Chris-Chan.  Keep on zapping to the extreme, boys!
  • And finally, in today’s Deep Thought we discussed the distinct possibility of Sarah Palin running for president of the United States, and why we really want her to run and win.  TL;DR: if she runs, it’ll be hilarious because of how stupid the Republicans would be to nominate her; if she wins, it’ll be awesome because it will guarantee that the world will end in 2012, thus proving the Mayans right once again!  Can’t refute that logic, folks!
One Response to “Freakshow! – 2/11/10”

  1. northofthe49 (but not actually) said

    sure come on up. though i hope it takes place while i’m still here (you’ve only got like less than 3 months)

Leave a Reply

