A Special Thanks

September 16, 2009

The strange thing about doing a one-man show at WTBU is how isolating the experience usually is.  Yes, I know this sounds like something that should be painfully obvious, but hear me out for a second here!  You’d think that a college radio station would be bustling with all kinds of crazy characters: the music junkie looking for a fix; the starry-eyed intern that is so stoked to be on the air that he’s selectively forgotten that he’s had to sacrifice three hours of extra sleep only to be told to play a couple rotation songs by his DJs; the e-board member who may or may not have office hours and just wants to relax in the station, pridefully monitoring their fief like a hawk.  Alas, nine times out of ten, I’m the only one in the station when I show up just before ten, the only one in the station when I’m wandering around at various points throughout the show to stave off the dementia of solitude, and the only other person in the station when I’m turning the reigns over to Overpowered by Funk at noon.

It made sense last semester; after all, only an idiot or an unlucky bastard would be stupid enough to be up at six in the morning blasting music and causing a ruckus, even if said music is “the best in garage and punk!™”  Since I unsurprisingly fit both those categories to a T, that shift was the perfect fit for me; but I digress.  The point is, there’s something kind of renegade about being in the station all by your lonesome so early in the morning.  It’s an altogether different story when it’s the past the point of the day beginning for the majority of people.  Then it’s just kind of eerie.

Well, much to my surprise, there was someone else in the station during my show last week.  And that man was Josh Friedman.  Perhaps you’ve heard of him – he’s one of the heads of Underwriting (read: advertising) at the station, and is the DJ of Taken Out of Context, which is on Thursdays from 8-10 PM on WTBU, and you should really listen to it because it’s awesome.  Well, it turns out that Josh really liked the show.  So much so, in fact, that he gave me this obscenely nice shout-out and plug at the end of last week’s TOoC:

The nicest fucking shout-out ever.

To say that this was generous of him would be a painful understatement, as would be saying that I was elated to hear this.  Taken Out of Context is a fantastic show and Josh is a fantastically talented DJ.  Just listen to his show and then to mine and I think it’s pretty clear that this guy is a DJ whereas I’m just a music snob with an eclectic taste who likes making setlists and occasionally talking into a microphone when the mood moves me.  I would absolutely love to take him up on that offer to work together sometime, and maybe something will come out of that someday.  But for now, all I can really do is thank him from the bottom of my heart.  As much as I try and get people to listen to this damned show – if only to validate how much of my free time I put into making it – I’d never say that I do this show for any kind of recognition or fame.  I love music, I love sharing my music with people, and I have fun creating these sets.  That’s all Freakshow! has ever been and all it ever will be.  But even though I might never attempt to pursue this show as a career, it doesn’t make these sips from the nectar fountain of peer recognition any less sweet.

One Response to “A Special Thanks”

  1. Jessy said

    i remember when Freakshow! took over Girl Powa!, haha. nice blog / keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

